SOUTH DAKOTA ATTRACTIONS | DEADWOOD ATTRACTIONS
“History at its finest…and most fun! Deadwood- True West Magazine’s 2015 “Best Gunfighter Town” in the West!”
Free shows 6 days a week: shoot outs, story telling and live music right in the middle of Main Street, and the Trial of Jack McCall at 8pm in the Masonic Temple theater.
“Best Rodeo. No Bull”. The Days of ’76 Rodeo has been named the PRCA Small Outdoor Rodeo of the Year four times and was named PRCA Midsize Rodeo of the Year for 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 and again in 2014. The Days of ’76 has also held the title of Badlands Circuit Rodeo of the Year since 2002. If you’re looking for some great rodeo action while in the Black Hills, look no further!
The Days of ’76 museum began informally, as a repository for the horse drawn wagons and stage coaches, carriages, clothing, memorabilia and archives generated by the Celebration.
In 1990 Don Clowser installed his collection of important Old West Pioneer and American Indian artifacts, archives, firearms and archives into the pole barn that was the museum, adding to what was already recognized as the largest collection of horse-drawn vehicles in the state.
Built in 1892, the Queen Anne-style home and its original furnishings sat silent for almost 60 years after W.E. Adams’ death in 1934, when his second wife Mary Adams closed the doors. Mrs. Adams left everything intact from the sheet music in the piano bench, to the cookies in a cookie jar.
“In 1930 pioneer businessman W.E. Adams founded the Adams Museum in downtown Deadwood with the purpose of preserving and displaying the history of the Black Hills. He donated the building to the City of Deadwood and placed the operation of the organization in the hands of a board of directors.
The board oversaw the collecting of some of the Black Hills’ greatest treasures including Potato Creek Johnny’s gold nugget, beloved American illustrator N.C. Wyeth’s pencil sketch drawing of Western legend Wild Bill Hickok, the mysterious Thoen Stone record of the Ezra Kind party’s discovery of gold in the Hills in the 1830s and a one-of-a-kind plesiosaur (marine reptile).”
Imagine a path where the ghosts of Wild Bill Hickok and Calamity Jane still roam; where bicyclists, hikers and horseback riders can explore spruce and ponderosa pine forests; and the very young, the very old and people of all abilities can enjoy.
The George S. Mickelson Trail was completed in September of 1998. Its gentle slopes and easy access allow people of all ages and abilities to enjoy the beauty of the Black Hills. The trail is 109 miles long and contains more than 100 converted railroad bridges and 4 rock tunnels. The trail surface is primarily crushed limestone and gravel.
“Step into the Black Hills best underground mine tour and return to a time when the powerful punch of a miner’s pick and the roaring boom of another dynamite blast signaled the ongoing search for the richest veins of gold on Earth.” Located on Upper Main/US Hwy 14A, just at the edge of town. Take a tour and then try your hand at gold panning.
Located in the heart of historic Deadwood, SD you will find an experience like no other. The retro Texaco station now houses a hot glass blowing studio. The service bays have been rejuvenated into a hot glass shop where spectators can watch molten glass transformed into glass sculptors by Deadwood’s own master gaffer.
Thomas Grier, superintendent of Hearst’s Homestake Mine, conceived the idea of the Homestake Opera House and Recreation Center as a way for Homestake to reward the mining town that had produced so much of the company’s wealth. He enlisted the support of Phoebe Apperson Hearst, widow of mining magnate George Hearst, and in 1911 they began laying plans for the opera house and recreation center. The Homestake Opera House and Recreation Center opened its doors on August 31, 1914. The building offered Lead’s residents a grand auditorium, a bowling alley, an indoor swimming pool, a library, social rooms and a billiard hall. Except for theater performances, everything was free to the public.
The museum’s experienced and knowledgeable guides will escort you on a fascinating and informative 45-50 minute tour of our simulated underground level of the Homestake Gold Mine – the only comprehensive look at both early-day and modern underground mining to be found in the Black Hills. This realistic exhibit has been created by over 140 miners and former mine employees. The Black Hills Mining Museum is located on Main Street in the town of Lead, just 3 miles up the road from Deadwood.
“Lead (pronounced leed) has been called the richest 100 square miles on Earth. Over a period of 126 years, miners pulled more than 41 million ounces of gold and 9 million ounces of silver from the Homestake Mine, the largest mine in the western hemisphere.
Prospectors began arriving in the Black Hills in the mid-1870s. Very quickly, “Lead City” was transformed into a thriving community built around the gold-mining industry. In the early mining years, miners hammered the rock with picks, their way lit with candlelight, and mushed mules pulling carts filled with ore. In later generations, miners broke the rock with pneumatic drills and powerful explosives, producing a seemingly limitless stream of riches.
To learn more about the history of Homestake and Lead, come to our Visitor Center and check out the exhibits!”